Autodesk subscription Named User licenses, also referred to as Single User licenses, are all managed from an admin Autodesk account under User Management. Even though similar licenses may be on different contracts and have different renewal dates, similar licenses are lumped together to form a total number or pool of available licenses. If there are multiple contracts and license counts, then it is not possible to distinguish which license is assigned to a user. This is a problem if some licenses are expiring, and some users need to ensure there is not a work stoppage situation due to an assigned expired license.
This is primarily only an issue if there are some licenses which will not be renewed. Autodesk has promoted a two for one (2:1) switch for companies that move from Multi-user (Network) licenses to subscription Named User (Single-user) licenses. When it comes time to renew the Single-user contracts, it may not be necessary to keep all the licenses that were acquired during the two for one promotion.
This could create a scenario where it’s necessary to let some licenses expire. The Assign and Unassign workflow for User Management creates a simple license assignment interface for available active licenses, however, it becomes more difficult to determine who may lose access to their software due to an expiring license.
Autodesk has recently updated the User Management interface. Users that are assigned an expiring license will look different and the user image silhouette will appear faded.
To view the users assigned a license, open a web browser and log into the Autodesk manage site at https://manage.autodesk.com with an admin Autodesk account.
Navigate to the User Management>By User section to look for verified user account profiles that appear lighter than others. In the image below, the user image silhouette appears faded compared to the other user images.
Select the user Autodesk account with the faded image and a dialog box will appear to notify one of the licenses is expiring soon. In the below example, a user is assigned an Architecture Engineering & Construction Collection license that is expiring, and their user image is still faded.
Any changes that need to be made to your license assignment can now be adjusted if you know which users are assigned an expiring license