Revit: Setting Open Workset Default in Central Model

When participating in a Revit workshared project (whether file-based, server-based, or cloud-based), users can control which worksets they wish to open when creating a new local file.  The options as pictured below are:

  • All - Open the model with "All" worksets open.
  • Editable - Open all "Editable" worksets.
  • Last Viewed - Open "Last Viewed" worksets.  Opens worksets according to their state from a previous Revit session. Only worksets open in the last session open. If you are opening the file for the first time, all worksets open.
  • Specify - Open with "Specify Worksets".  Opens specified worksets. When you click Open, the Opening Worksets dialog displays. When working on a local central model, the option to Specify what worksets are open can appear every time it's opened.

To select one of the above options, the user browses to and highlights the central model, and then clicks on the pull-down arrow next to the "Open" button.

 

When opening a cloud workshared model, these options are available in the "..." menu to the right of the file name (see image on the right).

When choosing one of these options, some users have mistakenly thought that whichever option they selected, it would be the default the next time they opened the project.  For example, they may select "All" when they first create a new local file.  However, when they next work on the project, the "Specify..." option is the default.  No matter which option they choose, "Specify..." is always the option that is checked.

So how is the default workset option determined, and is there a way to change it?

First, the open workset default is selected in the Options dialog when the central model is saved (see below).  Users can override this setting each time they create a new local, but choosing a different option is only good for that session.  Each time afterwards will default to whichever option is saved with the central model.

So, how to you change the default for users? 

File-based/Server-based workshared models:

  • Ensure all users have synched their local models and close the project
  • Open the central model
  • Select Save as > Project
  • Select Options...
  • Select the preferred Open worksets default..
  • Click OK and Save to overwrite existing central model
  • Users will see the change when creating a new local file

Cloud-based workshared model (see caution below):

  • Ensure all users have synched their local models and close the project
  • Open the cloud model
  • Select Save as > Project
  • Select Options...
  • Select the preferred Open worksets default.. 
  • Click OK
  • Save the file to a local drive/desktop
  • Select Collaborate > Collaborate to initiate a new central model to the cloud***

***Caution:  overwriting a cloud workshared model will overwrite published versions on BIM 360/ACC.  Users may choose to live with the default worksets option rather than overwriting their cloud workshared model.

 

About the Author

Jeremy Smith

Sr. Technical Support Specialist, AEC<br><br>Jeremy has been delivering service and technical support to customers in the AEC industry for over 25 years. He gained much of his AutoCAD/Revit experience serving as CAD Manager at multiple MEP/FP engineering firms in the Greater Boston Area. He then worked at Autodesk as a Technical Support Specialist, eventually becoming a manager overseeing the Revit and Vault support teams. Jeremy is excited to be in his current role as Sr. Technical Support Specialist at IMAGINiT, as it allows him the opportunity to work directly with customers every day and help them successfully leverage Autodesk’s solutions to achieve their business goals.

More Content by Jeremy Smith
Previous Article
Revit to BIM 360: Moving an existing file-based work-shared model to BIM 360
Revit to BIM 360: Moving an existing file-based work-shared model to BIM 360

Issue: The option to Collaborate in BIM 360 Doc management is greyed out or unavailable. Here's what you ne...

Next Article
The Autodesk Desktop App keeps showing an update is available after the update has already been installed
The Autodesk Desktop App keeps showing an update is available after the update has already been installed

You manually install an update to your Autodesk product and the Autodesk Desktop App is still showing the u...

Revit 2023 Classes Now Available

Check Schedule