How to relinquish Revit Worksets when user is not available

Issue:

An error stating that a user has not relinquished their work-sets has popped up and that user is not available to fix it. Or it could be that the user is no longer with the company, but the project is still ongoing.

Causes:

  1. The user has borrowed elements and not relinquished ownership.
  2. The user is no longer with the company or away on vacation and unavailable to relinquish.
  3. Username has changed due to email change.

Solution:

Cloud based work-shared model: (Proceed with caution on this solution. It could cause issues if everyone is not out of the model)

  1. Click the Collaborate tab > Manage Cloud Models button.
  2. Select the model in Autodesk Docs
  3. Select the Actions button

Graphical user interface, text

Description automatically generated

  1. Select Relinquish and select the user who needs to relinquish.

Graphical user interface, text, application

Description automatically generated

  1. This will trigger a forced relinquish.

Graphical user interface, text, application, chat or text message

Description automatically generated

 

Non-Cloud based work-sharing models

This process is not as easy as a cloud-based model. There is however a workaround, and it is as follows:

  1. Have everyone synchronize their local files
  2. Have everyone except for one person close the file
  3. Save As a new central model OR overwrite the existing model.
  4. Have the users open the new Central model and create new local models.

About the Author

Heather Volk

Sr. Technical Support Specialist, Building Solutions<br><br>Heather is responsible for responding to customer requests and helping them address technical challenges in a timely manner. She is an experienced Computer Aided Design Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the construction industry. She has strong arts and design professional skills in AutoCAD, plumbing, computer aided design (CAD), project estimation, and facility management, and a history of providing training and technical support.

Follow on Linkedin More Content by Heather Volk
Previous Article
Autodesk:  Have Users assigned to a Team in the Autodesk Account. However, the Users do not see the Software in their Account and cannot use
Autodesk: Have Users assigned to a Team in the Autodesk Account. However, the Users do not see the Software in their Account and cannot use

If you have Users assigned to a Team in the Autodesk Account but Users do not see the Software in their Acc...

Next Video
Utilities for Revit: Transfer
Utilities for Revit: Transfer

Automate the process for transferring and modifying elements between models when standards change, or when ...

Revit 2023 Classes Now Available

Check Schedule