Autodesk Forma Best Practice Part 3 – Understanding Server Structure

Issue:

The synced Revit file in Data Management is not showing the latest version.

Causes:

This is a common misunderstanding by users about how Data Management operates. Syncing a Revit Forma Project file does not update the file on Data Management. It requires publishing.

Solution:

Understanding the difference between the Revit file in Forma and the Data Management file is critical for Autodesk Forma workflow.

When a Revit file is initiated on the Autodesk Forma platform, it remains inside the Forma Core server, which is only accessible from the Revit Home Screen until the file is published.

*Although Revit files on Data Management only show the published file, they have close connections to the Autodesk Forma core server.

  • Editing the Revit file name on Data Management will update the Revit file name on the Forma Core server.
  • Deleting a Revit file from Data Management will remove the file from the Forma Core server.
  • Moving the Revit file from Data Management will update the file location in Revit Forma file tree on the Home screen.              

By default, Revit automatically publishes the file when it is first initiated on Autodesk Forma. This is why the Revit file on Data Management's version always starts with V2. 

Additionally, any files, including Revit files, that are uploaded directly to Data Management or via Autodesk Desktop Connector, will be placed under the Data Management server, not the Forma Core server. This is why Revit files that are not initiated require Autodesk Desktop Connector to link them in the project file.

About the Author

Gregory Lee

Sr Technical Support Specialist<br><br> Skilled in AutoCAD, Mixed-use, Renovation, Revit, and Sustainable Design. Strong arts and design professional with a BA in Urban design focused in Architecture from University of Washington.

Follow on Linkedin More Content by Gregory Lee
Previous Article
After renaming Forma/BIM 360 account name the Desktop Connector hub name does not update
After renaming Forma/BIM 360 account name the Desktop Connector hub name does not update

When changing the account name of your Forma Hub, the Desktop Connector site name does not update

Next Article
BIM 360 - Cannot Download Multiple Folders at once from Plans folder
BIM 360 - Cannot Download Multiple Folders at once from Plans folder

This behavior is working as designed.  Only the Project Files folders can be downloaded as a ZIP file.

Make the Most of Your Construction Tools

Learn More