You no longer see the confirmation dialog when renaming a view or level.
If at some point you clicked on a dialog like this when renaming Views or Levels, the only way to bring it back is by editing the Revit.ini file.
To resolve this issue you need to fix the highlighted number to 0 shown below to bring the dialog back and option to choose yes or no.
There are variations shown at the bottom of this article also.
How to Fix
You should see these entries in your ini file if you checked that you don't want to see either or both Levels or View renaming dialogs
How to Reset the Dialog Box
- You will need to make a sure Revit is closed before making this change
- Browse to this location on your computer and put your user name in place of the highlighted area below and enter the appropriate version number:
- C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Revit\Autodesk Revit 202#
- Make a copy of the Revit.ini and rename it
- Open the Revit.ini with Notepad
- Change the highlighted values above to 0
- Save the file and close it
- If you get an error saving it in that folder, do a saveas and save it to your desktop, making the following changes in the Saveas dialog before hitting Save to make sure it saves as an ini file
- Copy the file to the folder it belongs in
- Launch Revit
The settings for the View and Level renaming are shown below
- 0 = Show the dialog and the option to choose yes or no.
- 6 = Do not show the dialog and rename the corresponding view or level to match.
- 7 = Do not show the dialog and do not rename the corresponding view or level.
About the AuthorFollow on Linkedin More Content by Sherry Pittman